EPIC Online Technology Meeting on Co-packaged Optics (in cooperation with COBO & EA)

08 June 2020

16:00 – 18:30 CEST



Optiwave Logo
ficontec-potonics-assembly-test-hi (1)


Co-packaging silicon and photonic elements will provide the most efficient way to handle the needs of high-speed silicon I/O. In this meeting, we will review the last developments on co-packaged optics identifying collaborations and user requirements.

Spirit of the meetings

EPIC Online Technology Meetings are neither ordinary webinars nor conventional online meetings. They are extraordinary in terms of their speakers, attendees, and moderators.

Only a limited group of people will join each meeting. The speakers and attendees represent companies along the entire value chain: component suppliers, system integrators, and end-users.

The spirit of the meetings is to identify ways and reasons for working together. Speakers will give a short presentation about their technologies, solutions and needs related to the topic, and will answer the EPIC questions: “What can they do for you? What can you do for them?” Together with the attendees in the Zoom room, they will exchange expertise and new visions in a round table discussion, which will be continued at the end of the meeting resulting in new business relationships.

Watch us LIVE on YouTube

EPIC goes LIVE! If you could not get a seat as a speaker or attendee, but still want to participate indirectly, do not miss the opportunity to follow the meeting LIVE via our YouTube channel: EPICPhotonics


Dr. Jose Pozo, CTO at EPIC
Dr. Ana Gonzalez, R&D Manager at EPIC


Peter O’Brien, Director of European Photonic Packaging Pilot Line & Head of Research Group at Tyndall National Institute 
Torsten Vahrenkamp, CEO at ficonTEC
David Rodgers, Senior Program Manager at Teledyne – Download PDF
Felix Betschon, CEO at vario-optics – Download PDF
Vincent Lin, Director for Corporate R&D at ASE Global – Download PDF
Gabrie Hoogland, Chief Scientist at SABIC – Download PDF
Brian Welch, Product Manager at Cisco  – Download PDF
Ruth Houbertz, CEO at Multiphoton Optics – Download PDF
Tiger Ninomiya, Sales Engineer & Senior Technologist at Senko – Download PDF
Cem Bonfil, Product Manager at Optiwave – Download PDF


Alain Delpy, Business Development Manager at SOITEC
Andrew Robertson, Research & Innovation Manager at Bay Photonics
Antonello Vannucci, CTO at Photonics 42
Arkady Shipulin, CPQM Associated Director at Skoltech
Bob Musk, Director at Entroptix
Brian Mulroe, Business Developer at DustPhotonics
Carlos Viana, CEO at ICON Photonics
Chan Chih (David) Chen, Vice President Sales & Marketing at AOI
Chris Maloney, Director of Business Development at VPIphotonics
David Mackey, CTO at mBryonics
Dominique Collé, Customer Application Engineer at Heidelberg Instruments
Eddie Cheng, Director at ASE
Eleonore Hardy, Business Developer at CEA
Ellen Spindler, Product Planner at Keysight Technologies
Eric Mounier, Senior Analyst at Yole
Francois Menard, CTO at AEPONYX
Giovanni Delrosso, Sr. Scientist, Project Manager at VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Gunther Vollrath, CEO at Aifotec
Hannes Hundsbichler, Director Productline Multi Module Attach at Besi
Haik Mardoyan, Senior Research Scientist at NOKIA BELL LABS
Hideyuki Nasu, Executive Engineer at Furukawa Electric
Iñigo Artundo, CEO at VLC Photonics
Jan Mink, CEO at VTEC
Jim Theodoras, VP Research & Development at HGGenuine
Jörg Smolenski, Business Development Manager at Nanoscribe
Karsten Droegemueller, Managing Director at IX-CAD
Kenneth Jackson, Product Marketing Director at Sumitomo Electric
Laurent Milord, Process Integration Engineer at Scintil Photonics
Marco Romagnoli, Affiliate at Inphotec
Marco Vitali, Director System Engineering at Sicoya
Mark Lutkowitz, Principal at fibeReality
Martin Eibelhuber, Deputy Business Development at EVGroup
Martin Schell, Executive Director at Fraunhofer HHI
Michael Hochberg, CTO at Nokia
Michael Blaszkiewicz, Senior Engineer at SABIC
Michelle Hyers, Director of Engineering at PLX Inc.
Myun-Sik Kim, Product Manager at Axetris
Naoya Hayashi, Research Fellow at Dai Nippon Printing
Nathan Tracy, Technologist and Manager of Industry Standards at TE Connectivity
Osamu Kikuchi, Chief Researcher at Fujikura
Patrick Heissler, Product Manager Micro Optics at DELO Industrial Adhesives
Philippe Bolle, CEO at Skylane Optics
Rob Stone, Technical Sourcing at Facebook
Roberta Morea, R&D Engineer at SM Optics
Ronald   Broeke, CEO at Bright Photonics
Sascha Lohse, Product Marketing Manager at Finetech
Sébastien Brun, CEO at Sy&Se
Shiva Rai, Strategic Marketing Manager at Applied Materials
Tobias Gotschke, Senior Project Manager at SCHOTT
Tobias Müller, CTO at Aixemtec
Tolga Tekin, Scientist at Fraunhofer IZM
Tom Mitcheltree, Technologist at US Conec
Wilfried Noell, Director R&D at SUSS MicroOptics
Yasusuke Hattori,Manager at Hitachi High-Tech America
Yuval Ofir, Optics and HMD innovation at Embit


To participate, you need to have access to a computer (preferred) or phone, with video/microphone/sound, you can test your setup on Zoom.
All registered attendees are expected to participate in the full length of the meeting.
We allow only 1 person per company to participate. If more people from the same company want to join, they can watch us LIVE on our YouTube channel.
By registering, you agree that we can use your data to inform you of details concerning this event. EPIC will also share the participants list with the other participants or interested parties. Participation is confirmed only when received a confirmation email from the EPIC staff. By registering you acknowledge our GDPR Statement.


EPIC Events Manager Helena Jelinkova: helena.jelinkova@epic-assoc.com; mobile: +420 606526252